Which country is it?

1. Old capital is Zomba, first president was Hastings Banda, member of the Commonwealth, the UN, the IMF, the World Bank, the African Union and the World Health Organization.

2. Largest municipality is Schaan, formerly a Fürstentum, controversy over the Beneš decrees, is a direct democracy, the monarchy very popular in the land.

3. World’s third smallest country by area, republic, phosphate rich, some deny sovereignty and call it a client state, fauna is sparse, no armed fores.

4. Capital is Basseterre, the Kalinago inhabited it originally, a summertime snowfall on the Esquiline Hill in Rome is reflected in its name, affected by the Treaty of Utrecht.

5. Archipelago of seven islands, seven prehistoric temples, fifth most densely populated, there’s an order dedicated to Tuitio Fidei et Obsequium Pauperum.

5 comments for “Which country is it?

  1. Distant Relative
    July 9, 2020 at 17:44

    1. Malawi
    5. Malta

  2. JohnM de France
    July 9, 2020 at 19:06

    2) Principality of Liechtenstein. I went through it several times 2 years ago when on holiday riding the Swiss mountain trains.

  3. Robbo
    July 9, 2020 at 19:46

    3. Vanuatu.

    • Obligato
      July 10, 2020 at 09:07

      3 Nauru
      4 Dominica

  4. July 9, 2020 at 20:27

    Let’s get going – Malawi, Liechtenstein, Nauru, St Kitts and Nevis, Malta.

    Well done, all, not all that easy.

Comments are closed.